As of January 1, 2012, all entering students were required to show evidence of an initial bacterial meningitis vaccine or a booster dose during the five-year period preceding, and at least 10 days prior, to the first day of the first semester in which the student initially enrolls at a Texas higher education institution. An entering student includes a first-time student of a Texas public institution of higher education or private or independent institution and includes a transfer student, or a student who previously attended an institution of higher education before January 1, 2012, and who is enrolling in the same or another institution of higher education following a break in enrollment of at least one fall or spring semester.
Bacterial Meningitis is a serious, potentially deadly disease that can progress extremely fast - so take utmost caution. It is an inflammation of the membranes that surround the brain and spinal cord. The bacteria that causes meningitis can also infect the blood. This disease strikes about 3,000 Americans each year, including 100-125 on college campuses, leading to 5-15 deaths among college students every year. There is a treatment, but those who survive may develop severe health problems or disabilities.
A student is not required to submit evidence of receiving the vaccination against bacterial meningitis if the student meets any of the following criteria:
A student is not required to submit evidence of receiving the vaccination against bacterial meningitis if the student submits to the institution:
For Public Junior College Students only: to access the DSHS secure on-line exemption form click here: https://webds.dshs.state.tx.us/immcojc/ A copy of the form must be submitted to the designated school official at the institution the student will be attending.
DSHS has certain requirements about the expiration of the conscientious objection form, and photocopying the form, as designated in the question and answers below:
1. How long are the DSHS affidavit exemption forms valid?
These documents are valid for 2 years after the signature date of the notary. For the initial filing, the form must be turned into the school within 90 days of being notarized or it is no longer valid.
2. Can the DSHS affidavit exemption forms be transferred from one university to another (as part of their student record)?
For students transferring colleges/universities, it is possible to transfer the affidavit exemption form as long as it is still valid.
The Texas Health & Safety Code does not address the confidentiality of exemption forms/affidavits after they leave the DSHS office. Institutions of higher education will need to speak to their own legal counsels about any concerns they have about legal requirements specifically related to the transfer of student records between institutions.
It should be noted that it is not always possible to re-use an immunization exemption form at a second institution once it has been used at the first school.
3. Can the new DSHS public junior college exemption forms be transferred?
The new public junior college forms are not transferrable as they are specific to the public junior college. Students will need to get new exemption forms in this instance.
4. Can the DSHS exemption forms be photocopied?
No forms can be reproduced whatsoever, it's a violation of law.
5. There are new vaccines for meningitis that protects against meningococcal serogroup B. Are new students enrolling at institutions of higher education required to have it in order to start classes?
The language used to discuss the meningitis college entry requirement in Sec. 51.9192 of the Education Code and §21.613 of the TAC states that students must receive a "bacterial meningitis vaccination." At the time that the rule and statute took effect, only two types of bacterial meningitis vaccines were available to students: meningococcal conjugate vaccine (MenACWY) and meningococcal polysaccharide vaccine (MPSV4). MenACWY is the preferred vaccine for people 55 years of age and younger, however they both protect against the same four strains of bacterial meningitis (A, C, W and Y).
More recently, two vaccines have become available that offer protection from meningococcal serogroup B. Although several small MenB outbreaks have occurred on college campuses since 2013, college students in general are not at higher risk of MenB than persons of the same age who are not college students. Consequently, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention's Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices (ACIP) does not routinely recommend MenB vaccination for college students. However, college students may choose to receive MenB vaccine to reduce their risk of serogroup B meningococcal disease. Students should consult a physician to discuss risks. However, it should be noted that vaccination with the MenB vaccine should not replace routine vaccination with MenACWY vaccines.