Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board
   Board Members  |  Commissioner   |  Agency Info   |  Staff Directory   |  Index A-Z   |  Search:
Subscribe to updates
TX Higher Education Data Center
College Compare
College For All Texans
Generation TX
Military and Their Families
Texas.gov Veterans Portal THECB HUB Link

Add Bookmark

Erle A. Nye

Chairman and Chief Executive

Erle Nye is chairman emeritus of TXU Corporation. His experience has been in the engineering, financial, legal, operations, and regulatory areas of the energy industry.

Nye served on the Board of Directors of the Edison Electric Institute and co-chaired the CEO Task Force on Critical Infrastructure Protection. He is past chairman of the Board of Directors of the Electric Power Research Institute, North American Electric Reliability Council, the Electric Reliability Council of Texas, and the Nuclear Energy Institute. Nye was appointed Chairman of the National Infrastructure Advisory Council by President George Bush. Nye served on the Advisory Committee to the President's Commission on Critical Infrastructure Protection and on the U. S. Department of Energy's Electric System Reliability Task Force. Nye is a registered professional engineer and a member of local, state, and American bar associations.

In February of 1997, Nye was appointed by Governor George Bush, to serve a six-year term on The Texas A&M University System Board of Regents and was elected as Chairman of the Board of Regents in May 2001. He was reappointed as a Regent in 2003 by Governor Rick Perry, serving through April 2009. Nye is past chairman of the Texas A&M University College of Engineering Advisory Council. He also serves on the Texas A&M Development Foundation Advisory Committee and is a member of The Chancellor's Century Council of Texas A&M University. Nye is a member of the Development Council of The University of Texas at Dallas. For Southern Methodist University (SMU), Nye serves on the Executive Boards for the Cox School of Business and the School of Law, the Tate Lecture Series, and the Executive Advisory Council of the Maguire Center for Ethics and Public Responsibility. He was formerly Chairman of the Board of Baylor College of Dentistry. In 2005, Nye was appointed to the Board of the University of Texas Investment Management Company (UTIMCO) and Chair of its Audit and Ethics Committee. He was elected Chair of UTIMCO in February 2009.

Nye serves on the boards of The Trinity Trust Foundation, The Women's Museum, the YWCA of Metropolitan Dallas, The Southwestern Exposition and Livestock Show, and the North Texas Public Broadcasting. Nye also is a member of the Dallas Committee on Foreign Relations, The Salvation Army's Dallas County Advisory Board, the Dallas Symphony CEO Council, the Dallas Center for the Performing Arts Foundation, the Dallas Business Committee for the Arts Advisory Board, the Dallas Women's Foundation Advisory Council, and numerous other civic organizations. Nye is a member and past co-chair of the Dallas Together Forum, a member of the Governor's Business Council, and a past chair of the Dallas Regional Chamber.

In 2007, Nye was awarded the Torch of Conscience Award by the American Jewish Congress. He was named a Distinguished Alumnus of Texas A&M University in 2006. Additional awards Nye has received are the 2004 Trammell Crow Urban and Community Forestry Award from the Texas Trees Foundation; 2002 Bernard H. Falk Award from the National Electrical Manufacturers Association; 2002 Robert H. Dedman Award for Ethics from the SMU Dedman School of Law and Texas General Counsel Forum; 2002 Robert G. Storey Award from SMU; 2002 Texas Association of Business Distinguished Leader Award; 2001 Conn Distinguished New Venture Leader Award from the Lowry Mays College and Graduate School of Business at Texas A&M University; 2000 Russell H. Perry Free Enterprise Award; 1998 Distinguished Citizen Award from the Longhorn Council of Boy Scouts of America; and 1998 Father of the Year Award. He was inducted into the Junior Achievement Dallas Business Hall of Fame in 2001, and named the 1999 Humanitarian of the Year by the American Jewish Committee.

Nye holds a Bachelor of Science degree in Electrical Engineering from Texas A&M University, a Juris Doctor from Southern Methodist University, and a Doctor of Science, Honoris Causa from the Baylor College of Dentistry.

College for all Texans

Site Map | Staff Directory | Employment | Site Policies | TRAIL | Texas.gov | Fraud Hotline | Public Information Requests | Student Complaints | Customer Satisfaction Survey | Notice of Non-Discrimination

1200 E. Anderson Lane, Austin, TX 78752 || P.O. Box 12788, Austin, TX 78711-2788
Main: (512) 427-6101 || Student Loans: (800)-242-3062 or (512)-427-6340
©2018 THECB